2014

There’s no doubt that 2014 is going to be a big year for me.  My first release is only a couple months away and with a few more releases planned, I’ll officially be the “author” I’ve been afraid to call myself.  For me, using that title felt too formal.  Like an achievement I could only use once I’d published.  With Can’t Shake You just about ready to set sail into the world, I finally feel like I can refer to myself that long sought after title without any shame.  Pretty exciting stuff. 🙂

The other thing that really strikes me about this new year is how old it makes me.  Seems like we were just waiting out Y2K and all that craziness, and now it’s 2014.  I had my first child in December of 1999.  He’ll be in high school this upcoming fall.  What the heck is THAT all about?  When exactly did I become THAT mom?  I just…I can’t wrap my mind around it.  On one hand, it’s exciting–he’s an amazing young man and I’m so proud of the person he’s become (my younger kids too!).  But on the other, it’s downright terrifying. 😦

Needless to say, this new year is going to be a test of my emotions.  Sending one baby out into the world, hopefully to enjoyment of lots of readers, and watching another take inevitable steps closer and closer to his own voyage.  Sigh.  With any luck, I’ll be able to channel all of my mixed feelings into some awesome new stories so that 2015 is even better. 🙂

Happy New Year, everyone.  May 2014 bless you with love, laughter, family…and, of course, a few good books. 😉

Leave a Reply

